As Close As It Gets

As I’ve said before, I’ve never written that one post that lists all the things that I dislike about Pink, and all the Breast Cancer Awareness Month crap, and the many things I find wrong with the cancer patient experience/role we are expected to fill. It’s too overwhelming, so I just write posts about bits and pieces, one at a time. Many others have written excellent articles, posts, and books on the topic–I’d rather just let those do the talking for me. But none have come as close, so accurately and comprehensively as this Washington Post article.

I survived breast cancer, but I hate breast cancer awareness month. 

Author: Cancer Curmudgeon

Oct 2010 diagnosed with Stage 3, HER2+ Breast Cancer. Completed treatment Jan 2012. Waaaaaay over pink. Applying punk rock sensibility to how I do cancer.

4 thoughts on “As Close As It Gets”

  1. dear CC,

    Leah Nurik’s story is written with such raw candor and explained the REALITY of breast cancer in terms that will reverberate to the newly diagnosed as well as BC veterans. and I hope it leads to people being more informed about donating – especially to research. and I also hope it wakes up the friends and families of those going through treatment who simply do not understand the emotional undercurrent that’s carried by the rush of shock and fear.

    I note that Ms. Nurik is the CEO and founder of her own marketing group. I admire her for doing what she has done with her article, and will keep an eye out for more.

    CC, please know that when you write, taking one issue at a time, doing your analysis, and digging deep to help us see it’s inner workings, and sharing how it did/did not affect your own story, and considering how it might affect others is what we love about you and your blog. never change, CC

    much love,

    Karen ooxxoo

    Like

    1. Yeah I noticed she was the CEO and founder of her own group too! Am keeping an eye out as well.
      Thank you so much for you endless support of my efforts–it means so much, as you know. I probably over-think things, which is why I tend to have run-on posts–but I’m always wondering if others have had the same varied and complicated thoughts on some topics. Sigh, cancer is complex, and I want to talk about the stuff behind the silly slogans, and I think others do too! Love, CC xoxoxo

      Like

  2. I’ve only been at the breast cancer crap for a year, and I still find it near impossible to get my thoughts together enough to write how much I don’t like pink, and perky pink power powder puffs, and how silly it is to hear people say how brave I must be, and how perverse it is for me to make others feel better about my cancer.

    Thank you for that truly excellent and honest article from the Washington Post. She’s said what I think, and I will repost it and your intro too.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, it took me until well after I finished treatment to begin blogging and I’m still “new” at it I think. The WP article gives a great overview of some of my problems with it all, and I guess I’ll continue to examine in more depth some of what she says in my own future posts. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

Leave a comment